WHAT IS HALAL?
Halal means Lawful and it is the dietary standard of Muslims.
All pure and clean things are considered halal except for the few following exceptions:
1. Swine/pork and its by-products
2. Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
3. Animals killed in the name of anyone other than ALLAH (God)
4. Alcohol and intoxicants
5. Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears
6. Blood and blood by-products
7. Foods contaminated with any of the above products
WHAT IS KOSHER?
Zabiha refers to meat from a halal animal slaughtered by a Muslim in the prescribed Islamic way.
(A Muslim would never slaughter a haram animal as it does not become halal in any way).
Conversely, kosher is a term associated only with food. It has a similar meaning as halal does in the context of food,
but there are also many differences as the following:
1. Islam prohibits all intoxicants, including alcohols, liquors and wines, whereas Judaism regards alcohol and
wines as kosher. Hence kosher foods may contain alcohol. If they do, they are considered haram in Islam.
2. Gelatin is considered kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelatin is prepared from
swine it is haram. Even if gelatin is prepared from cows that are not zabiha, many scholars consider it haram.
3. Kosher practice does not require Jews to pronounce the name of God on the animals while slaughtering,
but Muslims must pronounce the name of ALLAH on all animals while in the act of slaughtering.
The pronouncement of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter is an act of worship and obedience in its own right.
It also is the key to many blessings and bounties.